Mission + History
Leadership Team

Tom Bakaly

Chief Executive Officer

Tom.Bakaly@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 8118

Mr. Bakaly was named CEO of Beach Cities Health District in November 2016 and is responsible for managing $90 million in assets, 170 employees and more than 900 volunteers.

William Kim, M.D.

Chief Medical Advisor

William.Kim@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 8213

Dr. Kim, MD, provides medical oversight for all research, programming and community services at BCHD and serves as the primary spokesperson on public health matters.

Monica Suua

Chief Financial Officer

Monica.Suua@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 8210

Mrs. Suua, CPA, is responsible for managing all District finances, including operating budgets, monthly financial reports and annual audits, and serves as the primary liaison to the Finance Committee.

Kerianne Lawson

Chief Programs Officer

Kerianne.Lawson@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 8133

Mrs. Lawson, LCSW, MSG, manages all community health departments and staff, including Youth Services, Blue Zones Project and Community Services.

Cristan Higa

Chief Marketing & Communications Officer

Cristan.Higa@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 8117

Ms. Higa is responsible for managing all communications efforts at Beach Cities Health District, including health promotions, public relations, community engagement, partnerships, I.T. and marketing.

Megan Vixie

Chief Engagement Officer

Megan.Vixie@bchd.org

Phone: 310-374-3426 ext. 8137

Mrs. Vixie, MPA, leads all human resource functions, including personnel and performance management, employee policies, compensation and benefits, safety/risk management and volunteer services.